Our Committees

The Student Senate Committees are functioning units of change, focusing on a specific area of the Senate or the college. The committees are open to all students, as the chairs are always looking for new and fresh perspectives to initiate progress.

Board Of Committee Chairs

Chair: President of the Senate

The Board of Committee Chairs is charged with overseeing all committees, coordination, and interfacing with administration. The committee hears budget and attendance  appeals.

Budget Management Committee (BMC)

Chair: Treasurer of the Senate

BMC consists of the treasurer and eight voting members, who serve to ensure efficient management of Student Senate funds, documentation of all financial transactions, and allocation of funds to Student Senate's recognized organizations. The BMC also advises Student Senate concerning proposals for additional funds.

College Life Advisory Committee (CLAC)

Chair: Oliver Eckloff

CLAC works closely with the College Life Office to offer feedback on policies developed by the office. The chair holds in depth discussions on campus issues that are of concern to the students in an attempt to find ways to make changes and improvements. The group also reviews campus programming to offer insight and continue to help improve college policies.

Inclusion Committee

Chair: Inclusion Officer of the Senate

The Inclusion Committee works with various offices on campus to ensure that the school is promoting ideas of Diversity, Equity, and inclusion (DEI). It also works internally to ensure that voting members of the Senate understand these ideas.

Academic & Career Affairs

Chair: Andrew Thibaudeau


The committee's primary responsibilities include acting as a liaison between the student body and academic decision-making bodies, such as the Academic Policy and Program Committee and the Board of Trustees Academic Affairs Committee. They also organize a bi-annual Senate Alumni Networking event and provide a platform for students to engage in discussions regarding academic programming. In essence, this committee plays a vital role in representing and advocating for student interests in academic matters while fostering alumni connections and facilitating open dialogue on academic issues among the student body.

Senate Opinions Committee

Chair: Dominic DiLuzio

The Opinions Committee focuses on drafting and deliberating opinions of the Student Senate while fostering an ideology of inclusiveness in order to commit to change on campus formulated by students' wants and experiences. Opinions are sent to the Senate floor to be voted upon before being sent to the respective office of concern on campus.

Senate Select Committee on Outreach (SCO)

Chair: Secretary of the Senate

The Senate Outreach Committee is charged with publicizing all Student Senate meetings and sponsored events and maintaining the Student Senate image through social media. The committee chair manages the Senate website and other accounts in order to promote accessibility and inclusion for students on campus. The committee also works closely with the IT Department in order to incorporate student feedback in the realms of digital programming.

Rules and Administration Committee (RAC)

Chair: Parlimentarian of the Senate

The Senate Rules and Administration Committee reviews all constitutions of clubs and organizations as well as the Constitution of the Student Senate. The committee is chaired by the Parliamentarian, who is responsible for reviewing all language and drafts of Senate resolutions, along with dealing with all grievances, while serving as the investigatory arm of the Senate when need be.

Wellness and Safety Committee

Chair: Ellebelle Pederson

The Gettysburg College Student Senate Safety Committee strives to promote a safe community through direct communication to both the Department of Public Safety and Facilities to ensure students are living in safe environment during their time on campus.

Senate Select Committee on Elections and Onboarding (EOC)

Chair: Parlimentarian of the Senate or member of the Executive Board running elections

The Elections and Onboarding Committee is chaired by the Paralmentarian and oversees election rules, administration, and planning.